Congratulate Award winners

| November 1, 2021

Congratulate Award winners

Award recipients will be honored for their contributions to the College and the specialty during the ACAAI 2021 Annual Scientific Meeting. The Gold Headed Cane will be presented at the Opening Ceremony on Saturday, Nov. 6, and the other award recipients will be recognized at the Annual Business meeting on Sunday, Nov. 7.

Gold Headed Cane
ACAAI President Luz Fonacier, MD, FACAAI, will present the Gold Headed Cane Award to Jay Portnoy, MD, FACAAI of Kansas City, MO, for demonstrating the highest standards of scientific excellence and integrity. He is a physician at Children’s Mercy Hospital in Kansas City and professor of pediatrics at the University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Medicine. Dr. Portnoy has been an ACAAI Fellow for 35 years and served as College President in 2007 – 08. He has received the Distinguished Service and Distinguished Fellow awards.

Distinguished Fellows
This award is given in recognition of outstanding contributions and commitment in the United States or Canada on behalf of the specialty of allergy. This year’s Distinguished Fellow Awards are presented to Bradley E. Chipps, MD, FACAAI, of Sacramento, CA; Stephen A Imbeau, MD, FACAAI, of Florence, SC; and Russell Settipane, MD, FACAAI, of East Providence, RI.

International Distinguished Fellow
This award is given in recognition of outstanding contributions and commitment on behalf of allergy in the recipient’s respective country. The recipient of this year’s International Distinguished Fellow Award is Cezmi Akdis, MD, of Davos, Switzerland.

Distinguished Service
This award is given in recognition of tireless efforts, dedication and enthusiasm on behalf of the College. This year’s Distinguished Service Awards are presented to Rebecca Burke, JD, of Washington, DC; David Engler, MD, FACAAI, of Houston, TX; Dane McBride, MD, FACAAI, of Roanoke, VA; and Niraj Patel, MD, MS, FACAAI of Atlanta, GA.

Woman in Allergy
This annual award honors an individual who has advanced the role of women in medicine or made a significant contribution to the specialty. The recipient of this year’s award is Mervat Nassef, MD, FACAAI, of New York, NY.

Executive Medical Director Award
The recipient of this award is selected by the College’s Executive Medical Director. The College honors Hollis Heavenrich-Jones, ACAAI Director of Public Relations, for this award for her continued hard work, loyalty and willingness to take on new projects.

Clemens von Pirquet Awards
The Alliance of the College is pleased to present Clemens von Pirquet Awards to two Fellows-in-Training for their outstanding meeting abstracts. First place, Alliance Memorial Award – $2,500 to John J. Accarino, MD, Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston, MA; Second Place – $1,500 to Ryan C. Eid, MD, University of Virginia, Charlottesville, VA.

Peter Hotez, MD, PhD