Gold-Headed Cane Award

The Gold-Headed Cane Award, voted on by members, honors a Fellow of at least 20 years who best demonstrates the pursuit of the highest standards of scientific excellence and integrity to make the master doctor.

Clemens von Pirquet Awards

Three awards are given each year to Fellows-in-Training whose accepted abstracts are deemed the best paper on any aspect of allergy/immunology or related fields.

Distinguished Fellow Award

This award is presented to a Fellow who has made significant contributions to allergy, asthma or immunology in the United States or Canada and/or has an outstanding reputation as a clinician/teacher, dedication to ACAAI activities, scholarly achievement and leadership qualities.

International Distinguished Fellow Award

This award is presented to an individual who lives outside the United States and Canada and demonstrates an interest in ACAAI activities and/or has participated in one or more of its international endeavors, or who has an outstanding reputation as a clinician/teacher, scholarly achievement and/or leadership qualities.

Distinguished Service Award

This award is presented to individuals who demonstrate tireless effort, dedication and enthusiasm in service to the College.

Woman in Allergy Award

This award is presented to a female Fellow or Member who has advanced the role of women in the field of allergy/immunology and in the College or who has made a significant contribution to the specialty and to the College.

FIT Travel Scholarships

Fellows-in-Training in North America can apply for financial assistance to attend and participate in the Annual Scientific Meeting.

Apply now

Spark Program

This program is open to residents interested in pursuing a career in allergy/immunology. Recipients of the award receive funding to help cover expenses to attend and the Annual Scientific Meeting.

2020 Recipients


The College presents several named lectures during the Annual Scientific Meeting. Those allergists selected to present named lectures embody the high standards and achievement of the allergists for whom the lectures are named.

Bela Schick Lecture

Dr. Schick, one of medicine’s most respected scientists, was known for his work with Clemens von Pirquet on anaphylaxis and for the test he developed to assess immunity to diphtheria.

Bernard Berman Memorial Lecture

The annual Bernard Berman Memorial Lecture recognizes a kind, caring clinical allergist with interests in the various aspects of clinical allergy and a passion for teaching.

John P. McGovern Lecture

This annual lectureship, supported by a grant from the John P. McGovern Foundation, recognizes eminent physicians and scientists — both clinicians and researchers — who contribute to the advancement of knowledge in the specialty.

Edward J. O’Connell Memorial Lecture

This annual memorial lecture honors the legacy of Dr. O’Connell, a past president of the College (1990-1991), who was a caring, compassionate physician with a life-long passion for serving children. He was an adept educator and authored nearly one hundred original articles, along with many book chapters related to allergy and immunology.

Luisa Businco Memorial Lecture

This lectureship honors Professor Luisa Businco of Rome, Italy, for her work in providing excellent patient care, her effective teaching and her quality research that led to significant advances in understanding several aspects of pediatric food allergy.