Congratulations to our 2023 award recipients

| October 23, 2023

Congratulations to our 2023 award recipients

The College is pleased to announce the recipients of our 2023 awards. The Gold Headed Cane Award will be presented during the Annual Meeting Opening Ceremony on Saturday, Nov. 11. Other honorees will be recognized at the Annual Business Meeting on Sunday, Nov. 12.

Gold Headed Cane
ACAAI President Kathleen R. May, MD, FACAAI will present the Gold Headed Cane Award to Gary N. Gross, MD, FACAAI for demonstrating the highest standards of scientific excellence and integrity. Dr. Gross is an allergist at the Dallas Allergy and Asthma Center in Dallas, Texas. He has been a College Fellow for 37 years and was the recipient of the ACAAI Distinguished Service Award in 2003 and Distinguished Fellow Award in 2017.

Distinguished Fellow Awards
This year’s Distinguished Fellow Awards are presented to David B. Engler, MD, FACAAI of Houston, Texas and David B. K. Golden, MD, FACAAI of Baltimore, Maryland. This award is given in recognition of outstanding contributions and commitment in the United States or Canada on behalf of the specialty of allergy.

International Distinguished Fellow Award
The recipient of this year’s International Distinguished Fellow Award is Stephen R. Durham, MD of London, England. This award is given in recognition of outstanding contributions and commitment on behalf of allergy in the recipient’s respective country.

Distinguished Service Awards
This year’s Distinguished Service Awards are presented to Mary Carol Badat, MAdED of Arlington Heights, Illinois, Gregory E. Lund of Liberty, Missouri and Bryan L. Martin, DO, FACAAI of Columbus, Ohio. This award is given in recognition of tireless efforts, dedication and enthusiasm on behalf of the College.

Woman in Allergy Award
The recipient of this year’s Woman in Allergy Award is Aikaterini Anagnostou, MD, MSc, PhD, FACAAI of Houston, Texas. This annual award honors an individual who has advanced the role of women in medicine or made a significant contribution to the specialty.

Executive Medical Director Award
The College honors Linda Cullison of Arlington Heights, Illinois who is ACAAI Director of Corporate Relations. This award is in recognition of her continued hard work, loyalty and extensive efforts to secure funding to support College programs.

Education Council Award
This year’s Education Council Award recipient is Gerald B. Lee, MD, FACAAI of Atlanta, Georgia. This award honors an individual that has made a demonstrable impact on advancing training and professional education in the field of allergy and immunology.

Clemens von Pirquet Awards
The Alliance of the ACAAI is pleased to present Clemens von Pirquet Awards to three Fellows-in-Training for their outstanding meeting abstracts. First place – Jennifer C. Li, MD, Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston, Massachusetts. Second place – Ari Heffes-Doon, MD, NYU Long Island School of Medicine, Mineola, New York. Third place – Irene Yuan, MD, Vanderbilt University Medical Center, Nashville, Tennessee.