The AMA works for you

March 2, 2020

The AMA works for you

Since its founding in 1847, the American Medical Association (AMA) has grown into a large organization whose purpose remains to represent American physicians and to improve public health.

AMA’s House of Delegates

AMA’s policies are determined by the AMA House of Delegates (HOD). The HOD meets twice a year with about 600 delegates representing just over 250,000 members and most medical specialty societies. The College was recently granted an additional HOD delegate and alternate delegate and is now represented in the AMA HOD by Delegates Alnoor Malick, MD, FACAAI and Melinda Rathkopf, MD, FACAAI and Alternates John Seyerle, MD, FACAAI and Purvi Parikh, MD, FACAAI. 

The AMA awards delegate representation based on the number of College members who are also AMA members. Your membership in the College and the AMA allows our small specialty big representation in AMA’s House of Delegates! This is the first time – since 1980 when the College was awarded one delegate/alternate delegate representative – that we’ve received the honor of being granted these additional voting members. Over the years, the College has been ably represented by its appointed delegates, in turn; Drs. Brennan, Triplett, Lanier and now, Malick and Rathkopf. 

The AMA HOD presents Resolutions for consideration and debate at each meeting. They are given full hearings in Reference Committees and then voted on by the whole assembly; majority rules (50% plus one). The House is overseen by a speaker and a vice speaker. Resolutions can be approved, defeated, referred to the AMA Board or one of their councils for further study, or amended. The approved resolutions are considered policy of the AMA – to be implemented and administered by the Board and AMA staff. When final, they are published in the AMA Policy Compendium.

The three allergy organizations now caucus at AMA with the specialties of critical care (Society of Critical Care Medicine); thoracic (American Thoracic Society); pulmonary (American College of Chest Physicians) and sleep medicine (American Academy of Sleep Medicine).  There are 16 allergist representatives in AMA’s HOD; a substantial number for a small specialty.

The College is extremely honored that Dr. Susan Bailey, allergist and former member of the College Board of Regents, is now AMA’s authoritative president-elect and will be elevated to AMA president in July. Our heartfelt congratulations to Dr. Bailey on this impressive achievement.  

The AMA works for the best physician representation and patient care in our country. The current long-term goals of the AMA are to:

  1. Create thriving physician practices,
  2. Create the new medical school of the future, and
  3. Improve health outcomes.

It’s important to join this powerful organization and keep your membership current.