Who’ll be the winner this year?

July 17, 2017

Every year, the College Fellows vote on one of the most prestigious awards we offer, the Gold Headed Cane award. This award is designed to honor an ACAAI Fellow who has demonstrated the highest standards of scientific excellence and integrity. Eligible candidates must have been a Fellow of the College for at least 20 years.

“To be nominated for the Gold Headed Cane is one of the greatest compliments a physician will ever receive,” said Dr. Lanier. “The nomination is bigger than the award itself, and as chair of the Gold Headed Cane committee, I’m proud to continue our tradition by encouraging College Fellows to vote for the next award winner. Carefully consider each nominee for this year - they are all wonderful allergists, physicians, community members and friends. None are more qualified or worthy than the rest - just different and unique in their own way.”

Nominees this year are Gailen D. Marshall, Jr., MD, PhD, FACAAI, Mark T. O’Hollaren, MD, FACAAI, and Myron J. Zitt, MD, FACAAI. Read over each of their bios and make your vote by July 27 - check your email for your ballot! The award will be presented at the Annual Scientific Meeting Oct. 26-30 in Boston.

The Gold Headed Cane award actually has a rich history - dating all the way back to the 1600’s, when physicians carried canes filled with aromatic substances such as rosemary, camphor or Marseilles vinegar to counteract offensive odors and prevent the spread of disease.

The tradition of the Gold Headed Cane originated in 1689 with John Radcliffe, who had a particular interest in asthma as the personal physician to King William III, an asthmatic. Dr. Radcliffe began the tradition of passing the cane to a successor whom he considered to be the greatest English physician of his time.

The Gold Headed Cane award is a concept used today by many medical schools and specialty societies to recognize a physician who symbolizes the pursuit of the highest standards of scientific excellence and integrity. The award serves as an inspiration to younger doctors and encourages them in family, social, civic, religious and professional life to cultivate character that earns the respect and goodwill of colleagues and the profession at large.